Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register ) Resend Validation Email


2 Pages  1 2  ( Go to first unread post ) Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Thread Rating: 0 votes, 0.00 average.  Rate:  
  • Thread Rating: 0 votes, 0.00 average.  Rate:  
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
> PC Thread, talk thread., Your Builds, or Latest stuff to talk abt
Exqlusive
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 01:40 AM
Quote Post


WME King Tiger
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,319
Member No.: 6,336
Joined: Jan 8th 2010
Location: Update Profile





QUOTE (grimsolace @ 4 minutes, 46 seconds ago)
One mistake = entire dead pc.
Mistake = EZY..

Only if you're retarded or computer illiterate. Oh wait, you are.


@ Immanoob

Even if you OC, you shouldn't need that much power, unless you plan on getting a second GPU in the future.



Also, don't get a 720p display. Get the full 1080p. You're just throwing money away if you build a PC with those specifications but only settle for a 720p display. You can build a $400-500 PC that runs everything on max @ 720p.

This post has been edited by Exqlusive on Apr 28 2013, 01:49 AM
PM
Top
Kenzz
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 01:47 AM
Quote Post


i wanan b da berry best
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 11,204
Member No.: 5,492
Joined: Jul 11th 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia.





Thanks for the reminder...dude.
PM
Top
+-!mma_N00B-+
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 01:55 AM
Quote Post


時よ止まれ!
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 5,263
Member No.: 7,398
Joined: Oct 15th 2010
Location: Cebu, Philippines





QUOTE (Exqlusive @ 15 minutes, 12 seconds ago)
Only if you're retarded or computer illiterate. Oh wait, you are.


@ Immanoob

Even if you OC, you shouldn't need that much power, unless you plan on getting a second GPU in the future.

a 2nd 660ti is just a maybe at this point. I'm sticking with one for now.

I'm not so sure with 550W since I have friends that clcoked 4.5 Ghz off their i5s using nearly similar PSUs... one of them is running a Crossfire setup and the other's just using a GTX670 and thinks that too much watts is better than not enough watts.

I guess you're right.
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
Hero*
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 03:12 AM
Quote Post


Derp!
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 14,236
Member No.: 4,367
Joined: Jan 8th 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia





(IMG:https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/295686_10151485791796539_327431850_n.jpg)

(Bear with my cable managerment >.>)
i5 3570k
Asrock Z77 Pro4
Cosair Vengeance 8GB x 2 - 16GB
Coolermaster CPU cooling
Seagate 2TB Hard Drive
Seagate 1TB Hard Drive
SanDisk 120GB SSD
eVGA GTX680 2GB
Cosnair 650W

This post has been edited by Hero* on Apr 28 2013, 03:12 AM
PMEmail PosterMSN
Top
WRX22B1998
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 03:35 AM
Quote Post


22B - Ultimate Impreza
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 12,648
Member No.: 4,234
Joined: Dec 21st 2008
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia.





QUOTE (+-!mma_N00B- @ +2 hours, 15 minutes ago)
mmm? I want to OC the CPU and GPU though /:

should still be more than enough. sometimes the watts can be overrated on psu's especially generic/cheap brands. that's why i was suggesting that psu.

This post has been edited by WRX22B1998 on Apr 28 2013, 03:36 AM
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteMSN
Top
+-!mma_N00B-+
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 03:39 AM
Quote Post


時よ止まれ!
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 5,263
Member No.: 7,398
Joined: Oct 15th 2010
Location: Cebu, Philippines





QUOTE (WRX22B1998 @ 4 minutes, 27 seconds ago)
should still be more than enough. sometimes the watts can be overrated on psu's especially generic/cheap brands. that's why i was suggesting that psu.

http://www.cougar-world.com/index.php?id=14

but I guess I should use a 550W PSU. The store where I'm buying my parts from has Silverstone ones. I guess that'll do instead of the Cougar.

Liek what Exqlusive said, 700W may be too much.

Edit: Not Silverstone, but rather, it's still Cougar

Cougar is a good brand anyway I think

This post has been edited by +-!mma_N00B-+ on Apr 28 2013, 04:38 AM
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
Blue-Sensei
Posted: Apr 28 2013, 09:30 AM
Quote Post


I have no idea what I'm doing
**********

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 1,074
Member No.: 7,637
Joined: Jan 16th 2011
Location: Virginia





So the next time I do a build, I think the best thing I can do is get a board that will support tri or quad sli. Then get twin cards for sli puprposes and an additional separate card(can be the same as the first two but doesn't need to be), this way I can use SLI but still run 4+ monitors. I might need to look into a better cooling setup though.
PMEmail Poster
Top
+-!mma_N00B-+
Posted: May 20 2013, 07:06 AM
Quote Post


時よ止まれ!
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 5,263
Member No.: 7,398
Joined: Oct 15th 2010
Location: Cebu, Philippines





yay, new PC came

Motherboard: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Graphics: Palit Daytona GTX660Ti Jetstream
Processor: AMD FX-8320 Black Edition
HDD: 128 GB SSD (Patriot) + 1TB HDD (WD)
RAM: G.Skills Ripjaws 4GB X2
Display: BENQ GL930 LED Monitor
PSU: SilverStone 600W
CPU Fan: Coolermaster TPC812
Chassis: Coolermaster CM Storm Scout 2
DVD-R: ASUS Green DVD-Writer 24X

the store I bought my PC off doesn't have a HD7950... so I had to make do with the GTX660Ti. The store with the Sapphire HD7950 doesn't accept an installment of 6 months and you know me, I'm an uber-broke bloke lol. and omg AMD > Intel everyday. 8 cores for nearly half the price of an i7. Thank God for that FX-8320 just hiding in the corner, such a money saver.

To buy next time:

1080p monitor
G.Skills Ripjaws 4GBxAnother2
Coolermaster Gaming Mechanical Keyboard (Cherry MX Blue Switches)
a better internet plan under the same ISP

pics:
SPOILER
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
WRX22B1998
Posted: May 21 2013, 06:07 AM
Quote Post


22B - Ultimate Impreza
**********

Group: Core Members
Posts: 12,648
Member No.: 4,234
Joined: Dec 21st 2008
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia.





(IMG:http://cronkitehhh.personal.asu.edu/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/obama-not-bad.jpeg)

amd is pretty good value tbh, when i got my pc the forums here recommended amd cpu to leave more money towards video card.
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteMSN
Top
Ryuji_Himura
Posted: Oct 10 2014, 05:52 AM
Quote Post


Solo Player
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 404
Member No.: 10,084
Joined: Sep 27th 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia





Here are my first PC specs:

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97-HD3
CPU: Intel Core i5 4690 3.5GHz
RAM: G.Skill RipjawsX Series DDR3-2133MHz 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Hard Drives: Seagate 2TB HDD SATA and Samsung 120GB SSD 840 EVO Series SATA
Graphics Card: Gigabyte Nvidia GTX780 TI 3GB GDDR5
Power Supply: Seasonic G-750Watt 80+ Gold
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 Black Mid Tower (It comes with the fans)
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit
Montior: Acer S231HL Analog (1920 x 1080)

I bought my custom PC a few months ago and still happy with it.

PM
Top

Topic Options 2 Pages  1 2  Reply to this topic Fast ReplyStart new topicStart Poll