> Musings on Retirement or Semi-Retirement, Thoughts of not so active MT player
RB33
Posted: Apr 12 2015, 12:23 AM
Quote Post

Elder Magic Practitioner
Group Icon

Group: FORUM MODERATOR
Member No.: 167

It's a lazy afternoon... I figured I might as well share the musings that I had written back in 2010 regarding retirement (semi or otherwise) from active gaming.

Retiring from the Virtual Highway
Written July 29, 2010

http://arbiter33.blogspot.com/2010/07/reti...al-highway.html

It’s been roughly two weeks since the second Maximum Tune tournament. Two weeks since I retired from the game itself. Now dear reader, you might be wondering why it took me quite some time to finally move on from a game that had literally cost me thousands of pesos tuning up a virtual car, winning virtual races here and there when I could have saved up all that cash and probably bought myself quite a number of more important valuables instead.

For starters, I started playing the game as a substitute. I am a fighter pilot by nature – albeit a virtual fighter pilot, since my eyesight has prevented me from fulfilling that dream (Consider it a blessing in disguise when you take a look at the current state of the Philippine Air Force, dear reader.). As such, I am inclined to play games that allow me to rule the skies, virtual as it may be. At the time I started playing Maximum Tune, there was a shortage of flight simulation-like games in the arcades. The same goes for the tried and trusted desktop. There was a shortage of games that cater to us virtual fighter pilots – and there’s still a shortage of those kinds of games to this day save for the wonderful Ace Combat series which is unfortunately available on a console that I don’t own. So, I took to the next best thing: racing games. Initial-D was there but I didn’t buy the idea of running and drifting my car in a mountain course, cool as it may look like. I eventually discovered Maximum Tune which represents the opposite of mountain racing: h